This Week’s #TuesdayMotivation: I Want To Be Carrie Bradshaw – Minus the Expensive Shoe Obsession (Because I CAN’T AFFORD It!)

Laurean D. Robinson, MA

June 7, 2016
Yesterday marked an important anniversary in American popular culture.

18 years ago, HBO greenlit a pilot TV show based on New York sex columnist Candace Bushnell’s collection of her social observations of dating  and relationship patterns of men and women . . . and the rest they say was history.

That pilot became so popular that the series was renewed for multiple seasons and spawned a film franchise. But more importantly, it changed a cultural consciousness.

That series was Sex and the City starring Sarah Jessica Parker as Bushnell’s doopleganger Carrie Bradshaw, Kim Cattrell as the sexually liberated PR rep Samantha Jones, Cynthia Nixon as the hard-nosed lawyer Miranda Hobbes, Kristin Davis as the conservative WASP Charlotte York and Law & Order alum Chris Noth as the infamous Mr. Big.

Check out my vintage piece I wrote on The Student Becomes The Teacher blog when I was teaching college and reflecting on my dream of being a writer full-time like the series’ heroine:

Source: #ThrowbackThursday #TBT – I Want To Be Carrie Bradshaw – Minus the Expensive Shoe Obsession (Because I CAN’T AFFORD It!)